Regional Profile

The Upper West Region has a total of eleven (11) administrative districts, comprising Daffiama Bussie Issa (DBI), Jirapa, Lambussie, Lawra, Nadowli –Kaleo, Nandom, Sissala East, Sissala West, Wa East, Wa Municipal and Wa West. The district health system in the region is administratively managed by the eleven Budget Management Centres with the help of District Health Management Teams (DHMT‟s). The DHMTs are supervised by the Regional Health Management Team (RHMT). Each district is further divided into health sub-districts for effective health services delivery purpose. There are sixty eight (68) sub-districts administratively managed by Sub-district Health Teams (SDHTs). Each sub-district is divided into CHPS zones for community health service delivery. The region has a total of one thousand and nine (1009) communities. Figure 1 is the regional map showing how the facilities are distributed in the region.